Top of the Onetouch Premier League Class

Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko) my best striker of the season.

Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko) my best striker of the 2007/2008 season.

This season’s Onetouch Premier League (OTPL) will come to a successful end this weekend. Clearly, it has been one of the most successful seasons over the past five years. Clubs have had to win only few points off the pitch. The bad refereeing, violence and allegations of match fixing which characterized previous leagues have declined considerably this season.

Even before the Ghana League Club Association (GHALCA) releases its list of nominees for season awards, I want to mention some of the players and officials who have impressed me this season.


Most Exciting Player:

Dominic Adiyiah was the most exciting player this season in my opinion. Anytime he played, the Heart of Lions forward approached the game with shear excitement, speed and the kind of flair which is pleasing to the eye and difficult to miss.

Young Player of the Year:

Five young players caught my interest this season. Tawric Jibril (Accra Hearts of Oak), Latif Salifu (Liberty Professionals), David Nii Addy (All Stars) Harrison Afful (Asante Kotoko) and Emmanuel Agyeman Badu (Berekum Arsenals). I have found it very difficult getting one of these boys to for this award, but in the light of his massive contribution to the Black Stars, I will go for Harrison Afful.

Most Improved Player:

Coming from a relegated team and rising to fame in OTPL is no easy feat. Harrison Aful (Asante Kotoko), Dominic Adiyiah (Heart of Lions), Jordan Opoku (Asante Kotoko) and Nii Adjei (Asante Kotoko) have all achieved this feat and are deserving of this award. I will however go for Harrison Afful again because he appeared to have climbed the latter very fast.

Revelation of the Year:

The year in retrospect saw a number of revelations in all the departments of the game. One cam mention such players like Samuel Ayew Yeboah (Liberty Professionals), Yaw Antwi (Liberty Professionals),Tawric Jibril (Hearts of Oak), Harrison Afful (Asante Kotoko) and Basik Mohammed (King Faisal FC). I will give this award to Liberty forward Sam Ayew Yeboah.

Goal King:

Hopefully, it will be Eric Bekoe. If he messes up on Match-day 30, Dominic Adiyiah, Emmanuel Osei Banahene or even Samuel Ayew Yeboah can win the coveted award.

Goal Keeper of the Year:

The most impressive goal keepers of the year were Soulama Abdoulaye (Asante Kotoko), Patric Antwi (Liberty Professionals), Charles Kipo (Real Tamale United), Fatau Dauda (Ashgold FC) and Tetteh Lugard (Zaytuna United). Without a doubt, consistent goal keeper of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Soulama Abdoulaye cannot be denied this award. He was clearly the most outstanding goal keeper this season.

Defender of the Year:

It is difficult to choose between Hanan Gyiwah (Real Tamale United), John Boye (Heart of Lions), Richard Kissi Boateng (Liberty Professionals), Harrison Afful (Kotoko), David Kabou (Liberty Professionals), Jerry Akamenko (Heart of Lions) and David Nii Addy (All Stars). I will however choose John Boye. The lanky center back has distinguished himself this season.

Midfielder of the Year:

Ghana is distinguished for its ability to churn midfielders. A midfielder from Ghana, is expected to measure up to world-class stars like Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari, Laeyea Kingston, Stephen Appiah, Abedi Pele etc. IT was difficult finding that player this season. The few who caught my attention were Kofi Abanga (Hearts of Oak), Edmund Owusu Ansah (Heart of Lions), Francis Akwafo (Asante Kotoko) and Jordan Opoku (Asante Kotoko) Ekow Benson (Tema Youth). I will give this award to Francis Akwafo.

Forward of the Year:

Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko), Dominic Adiyah (Heart of Lions), Obed Owusu (Gamba All Blacks), Isaac Donkor (Hasaacas), Yaw Antwi (Liberty Professionals), Osei Banahene (Heart of Lions) and Agyemang Badu (Berekum Arsenal), Kwadwo Poku (Asante Kotoko) and Latif Salifu (Liberty Professionals) were all impressive this season and his award could have gone to any of them. Eric Bekoe however towered above them all this season.

Player of the Year:

This is a tough call. Many pundits will find it difficult choosing between Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko), John Boye (Heart of Lions), Harrison Afful (Asante Kotoko), Samuel Ayew Yeboah (Liberty Professionals) and Dominic Adiyiah (Heart of Lions). I think it should go to John Boye.

Onetouch Premier League Team of the Year:
Soulama Abdoulaye (Asante Kotoko), Harrison Afful (Asante Kotoko), David Kabou (Liberty Professionals), John Boye (Heart of Lions), David Nii Addy (All Stars), Edmund Owusu Ansah (Heart of Lions), Jordan Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Ekow Benson (Tema Youth), Emmanuel Agyeman Badu (Berekum Arsenal), Dominic Adiyiah (Heart of Lions), Eric Bekoe (Asante Kotoko).


Coach of the Year:

Bashir Hayford

Club Chairman/Manager of the Year:

George Afriyie (Gamba All Blacks)

Promising Coach of the Year:

Abdul Razak (Real Tamale United)

Referee of the Year:

Reginald Latbridge


2 Responses to “Top of the Onetouch Premier League Class”

  1. 1 carlos
    July 18, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Maybe it a mistake because i cant see esme mends inside of this…………..

  2. 2 carlos
    July 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    what about esme mends of accra hearts of oak

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Hitz Counter

  • 87,365 Visits Today



July 2008
« Jun   Aug »



%d bloggers like this: